Ink Engine

Thou Shall Read

Chronicling the Experience at RTVM

To start with, I am very honored to be able to accomplish my internship at RTVM because you guys gave me so many things to remember, so many lessons to ponder, and so many experiences to treasure. I couldn’t ask for more.

            It was exhausting and yet fun working in the RTVM. Everything needs to be as fast as one, two, three. You will need all the guts you have once you work in this industry. As stressful as it looks like, I am more than willing to be a part of something like this.

            I will never forget my first coverage in RTVM. They let me be a part of the Team PNoy Rally coverage. It was exciting because I had the privilege of seeing so many politicians, especially President Aquino himself, up close and personal. But what’s more exciting was that I was able to saw how people from the media industry operate. Witnessing what they are doing during coverage was an honor because you got the chance to get a glimpse of reality. But what I like about that day was being able to be inside an OB Van. I only see it on televisions but to be able to be in it personally was truly exciting because I saw how the director gave instructions to the cameramen and so on and so forth. And, my mentor gave me the chance of writing the article in that event, to be posted in RTVM’s website. Although the event ended late, I was glad and happy because aside from that it’s my first time, not all students are given the chance to be part of something like that.

            Also, I was so euphoric when they gave me the chance of being with them during the coverage of the 27th anniversary of the EDSA People Power Revolution. For the first time (again), I was able to experience waking up as early as 1 a.m. because of the early pullouts. During the EDSA coverage, we did a live airing of the event. I must admit, the live airing I usually see on televisions is very different from what I saw personally in the EDSA coverage. Everyone was chaotic because they don’t want to commit ‘dead air’ or the scene where the host stopped talking. They wanted everything to be as smooth as silk. Moreover, it was very tiring to get your interviewees. I experienced talking to certain politicians, asking for their time, if they can allow us an interview session with them. Luckily, I was able to accomplish all of those things. The EDSA coverage was very memorable.

            But what would be the highlight of my internship here at RTVM was my first provincial trip with them. They let me be a part of the Quezon province trip. We covered the Team PNoy political rally in Catanauan and Gumaca, both in Quezon province. Admittedly, I was hesitant to come. But, of course, I don’t have any choice but to go with them. Though exhausting, the trip was a joy. It was all worth it.  The people were very kind to me. My mentor, Ma’am Faith, let me write the articles of that event. Moreover, I experience the perks of working in the media industry. What I like about the trip was the abundance of food. The stress was all worth it because it was an experience that taught me a lot of memorable lessons. I am very thankful for all of these.

            The memories that RTVM gave me are something I will keep on visiting down the memory lane. Although I struggled coping up with the RTVM environment, I was thankful I did my OJT here because the people were so friendly to me. I’m here at RTVM not because of an accident. I’m here because they taught me a valuable lesson – to become a better person. As challenging as it was, as bad as it hurts, I thanked God for putting me here because you blessed me with so many experiences. Thank you for giving me a heads up of what to expect once I set foot on the real world of media. Thank you for letting me experience this one crazy roller coaster ride. Thank you for letting me be a part of something big. I can’t find the words to say how grateful I am to all of you for everything you have given me. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

